travel

The desert oasis

DSC_0814
Our traveling Pops! sitting poolside, enjoying the warm weather!

Hello, everybody! Yup, once again, its not Monday. We finally had some nice (well, decent) weather here in the Pacific Northwest, so we have spent the last few days out in the garden doing all of the things we don’t get a chance to in the yuck. On the bright side, I was able to weed all of my gravel!

On our journey, we left Page and headed to Mesa, one of two of our actual destinations. The entire reason for this trip was to go scout the area, as we have talked recently about a move out of the yuck and into the sun. We stayed with some dear friends we haven’t seen in years, and enjoyed the area. I never did get any pictures there, we were too busy enjoying our time with our friends, but I did find some great things to do on our next visit!

DSC_0808

The first stop when planning a trip here is to check out their tourism site. It is packed with information and attractions, as well as community events, places to eat, and hotels. A big draw for you hikers is the Superstition Mountain hikes. This page can help you navigate the mountains, while this article is a great reference for some of the specific hikes. My kids loved walking and exploring the mesas in Page, and I think they would love this area, so its a most do on our next trip down!

close up of cactus
Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

My husband works in the aerospace industry, and has a huge love of planes. I do not share that enthusiasm (I cannot stave flying, I don’t have wings for a reason), but I am amazed at what mankind has accomplished in the field of aviation. With that in mind, one stop I’m very much looking forward to is the Arizona Commemorative Air Force Museum. With planes for both world wars, and so much more to see, fly back into time and learn more about the brave men who fought for our freedom.

When you’re done with all that, it’s time to dive in and cool down! Visit Golfland, and enjoy some good old-fashioned splashy fun. I’m not going to lie, this place looks awesome. We passed it on the way to our friends, and we had commented on how cool it was! With it being in the 100s down there, I would love a day here!

This city has so much to offer, and I cannot wait until our next trip down to start exploring the vast entertainment available! Until next time!

Kendall